It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. with this opinion. What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Some people argue that it is essential for children to learn moral values from an early age and punishment is the best way to teach this. This essay totally agrees with that statement because parents’ and teachers’ roles are to guide children into the right path. However, parents should not beat their children and instead, they can use other sorts of punishment. It is essential to use punishment as one of the learning methods to show children the right path. This is because youngsters will become spoilt if they can do whatever they want and still receive no punishment when they make mistakes. Therefore, parents and teachers should use this way to teach their children valuable lessons and morality. For example, recent research by Oxford University revealed that adults who were punished during their childhood in the correct way are more reliable and ethical compared to their peers because people’s character is built mainly during childhood. Physical punishment should no longer be used in the modern world. This means that parents and teachers should always be careful about their way of punishment because certain punishment that does not involve beating the children is useful. For example, parents can take away a favorite toy from a child or prevent them from watching TV. There are also some other constructive ways of punishments. For example, nursery schools in Japan ask children to plant trees when they do something wrong. Such punishments are beneficial for the children and the society. After all, the main purpose of the punishment is to teach the child a lesson and not to hurt him physically. In conclusion, it is vital for young people to learn how to distinguish between good and bad things and avoid doing mistakes and the most effective way to achieve this is to punish them; however, this punishment should not be physical; rather it should be psychological and practical.