Environmental problems cannot be solved by one or a few countries. Instead, they should be solved with international effort.

It is increasingly clear that humans have strained and damaged the natural environment. Although individual countries can contribute to environmental protection, I believe that the superior approach is to protect the environment at an international level. National governments and large institutions make a difference in improvements of the natural environment to some extent. This is because there are different causes of environmental problems in different countries due to geographical location. For example, some inner lands in China and other continents close to the equator are more likely to suffer from desertification, while flooding caused by climate change occurs more frequent in coastal areas. Therefore, it is incredibly complicated to create policies tailoring the needs of countries. However, environmental destruction is not the only severe problems faced by the modern world, so some governments may ignore the importance of protecting the environment and prioritize other issues. On the one hand, if they are supervised and restricted by the international policy, they might, for instance, introduce laws to limit the emission of greenhouse gas from factories to maintain their global status and influence. On the other hand, addressing environmental issues at the international level can benefit some developing countries. The lack of financial assistance may hinder them from progressing, so with the aid of developed countries, they can mitigate the effect of climate change. For example, China sent experts and poured millions of money into some African countries in order to reduce their reliance on fossil fuels by developing environmentally-friendly and renewable energy sources, such as solar and hydro power. In conclusion, we can achieve more by tackling environmental troubles with international effort, despite that measures introduced by governments are effective in some fields.