It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children.

There is a universal consensus that children ought to be taught how to differentiate good deeds from wrongdoings. It is therefore believed that serving punishments for doing wrong is necessary in learning this distinction. I completely agree with this point of view. I am also of the opinion that withdrawing certain privileges and being asked to kneel or face the wall are some that can be used to punish children for any bad behaviour. To begin, children can probably differentiate between good or bad when their behaviours are appropriately rewarded. For doing what is bad, a child ought to be told and also made to face the consequences. By so doing, it gets registered into their sub-consciousness that every behaviour will be followed by commensurate reward, and in the case of bad behaviour, it is to be punished. As regards how children should be made to realise they have offended, perhaps the most likely thing parent ought to do is to take away some fringe benefits. For instance, some of these will be to reduce leisure time used in watching TV, or browsing on the internet. Similarly, extra chores can also be given to any child that erred. In addition, tutors in schools can also possibly give extra home work to children that disobeyed in the classroom. Lastly, children following any offence can also be made to kneel down or required to face the wall for a period of time. By doing this, they are being trained to know that for every wrong action or step taken, an equal corrective measure will be faced. In conclusion, it appears logical to agree that punishing children help them to know the difference between right and wrong at their formative years. There also exist varying punishment measures that can be utilized for this purpose.