It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Punishing youngsters is fast becoming the order of the day. Hence, the belief by some people that, for children to be able to differentiate between good and bad, punishment is necessary. In my opinion, I completely agree with this idea. This essay will discuss the types of punishment to employ. Firstly, training a child can be a lot of work because some children can be a handful. They provoke carers to be severe while correcting them for a wrong done. However, this method does not instill discipline in a child, otherwise, it hardens the heart. Hence, parents should employ less- severe forms of correction such as, denying them of fun times, meals or even isolation in a place for a period of time. This method brings about a sober reflection in children's hearts, and are able to retrace their steps and be sorry for everything they did wrong. For instance, whenever my 6 year old daughter offends me, I ask her to face the wall for about an hour. 5 minutes into the period, she becomes bored and starts crying and apologising. Evidently, such style of discipline has proven to be very effective. Secondly, most parents who are too linient end up over pampering their wards. Therefore, guardians must learn to strike a balance - not to pamper a child too much and avoid extreme punishment. In order to achieve this, parents ought to imbibe good morals from childhood into their wards. By so doing. they are able to discern by themselves right from wrong. For example, my parents imbibed in us good attributes right from when we were about 3 years old and this helped me and my siblings to be seen as well-behaved pupils in school and even in our community. In conclusion, for children to be able to act right, teachers must teach them to do so as early as possible and avoid corporal forms of punishment.