It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and

The acceleration of the technology in 21st century has had a remarkable effect on punishment of children. Nowadays, it is commonly accepted that physical punishment is not appropriate for children. Contrary to this popular belief, there are still those who argue that corporeal punishment is better for them. However, I am inclined to think that physical or even mental punishment is not suitable methods to encourage children to do the right thing. First and foremost, the punishment is not an appropriate choice to aid children to recognize distinction between bad and good. There are also some other rewarding ways. For example, when a child does something wrong such as breaking a glass jar, his mother can show him that breaking a jar is not correct by demonstration of an appropriate behavior such as talking to him calmly and explaining him the correct way for the next time, in order to prevent him of a danger by broken glass. Another significant fact which should be taken into account is that the corporeal punishment will create physical and moral problems for children in the future. If a child grows up in a family with violent environment and atmosphere, he will show similar behavior in school as well as society. In other words, violent behavior is inscribed on mind of a child, if he/she rose up from an inappropriate family with aggressive members. Finally, teachers and parents play a vital role on children behavior, thus their manner has direct impact on how a child understands the difference between doing well or not. For instance, teachers can help children by making a friendly environment in class room to encourage children to work together. On the other hand, they should be aware of the advantages of competition which aid children to be strong and improving their self-esteem. All summed up, on the basis of the points mentioned above, I am convinced that teacher and parents should be careful about their own behavior, which are important and have influence on children. It seems inevitable that there are more and more ways to inhibit a child from punishment. However, it is our responsibility to evaluate those ways and decide whether it will do more harm than good.