It is the fact that eating too much is as detrimental as smoking, so the government should prohibit food product ads as they do with cigarettes. While I accept this measure is well-founded, I believe that it is unreasonable to forbid the advertisement of

It is the fact that eating too much is as detrimental as smoking, so the government should prohibit food product ads as they do with cigarettes. While I accept this measure is well-founded, I believe that it is unreasonable to forbid the advertisement of particular food products. On the one hand, it is widely believed that food advertisements could indirectly put people’s health in jeopardy, like smoking. Through television channels, children normally watch food advertisements like McDonald, these ads make them tempted to consume fast food instead of healthy food like vegetables. In the long-term, it is possible for children to suffer from obesity, because fast food is high in fat and starch. Additionally, eye-catching food advertisements can stimulate appetite spontaneously, causing adverse impacts on mental health. For example, my nephew would become aggressive and smash furniture if his mother does not buy junk food. On the other hand, I believe that banning the advertising of certain food items is irrational. Firstly, many food manufacturers consider that advertisement is the most effective measure to approach potential customers and introduce their new products in the market. If their ads are imposed a ban, corporate profits would significantly drop, causing these companies to be on the brink of bankruptcy. Secondly, banning these ads is an obvious disadvantage for consumers, they would not be well-informed about the products they really want to purchase. Finally, attractive food advertisements might make those who are anorexic consume more food. In conclusion, while I recognize that forbidding the advertisement of specific foodstuffs products would prevent health problems, I believe that imposing a ban on these ads is not appropriate.