It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. with this opinion?

As children grow up to be the future of a nation and thereby the future of the world, we can safely project that their actions and choices can bring either good or bad changes to their personal lives and the society. While I strongly believe that it is crucial we help children differentiate between right and wrong at a very early stage of their life, but I don't advocate the idea of punishing them in the process. I will present my views in this essay. It is a widely observed theory that children simply try to mimic the actions of their parents or elders and in many cases, these actions might further develop into their own personal habits. For example, If parents go hunting for recreational purpose and hurt animals in the presence of their children, then there is a great chance that this might become their own habit in the future. There is a good chance that such kids might not be able to learn being compassionate to other living things. There is a study conducted by the Pediatric psychology association which states that children tend absorb the actions, behaviours and vocabulary from their environment. Hence it extremely crucial that parents and elders exhibit good behaviour in the presence of children. It is a well known fact that punishment has become an integral part of a child's upbringing. It usually involves hurting children either physically or verbally to ensure that children follow the orders of their parents or to avoid them from repeating mistakes. Punishment may or may not involve an explanation when a child commits a mistake. This might temporarily discourage the children from pursuing forbidden thoughts and actions, but may not help them once they grow up to become adults. According to a study conducted by Randall children's hospital in the USA, children who are punished at an early stage are negatively impacted by the verbal or physical abuse or hurting involved in it. Hence, it is safe to state that punishment is more detrimental than being resourceful in a child's upbringing. Hence it is important that we explain and educate our children on differentiating between right and wrong and the impact of making the right choice in their personal lives and the society.