It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

The distinction between the right and the wrong definitely should begin in the initial years (opening sentence). I strongly believe that a system of rewards and punishments plays a vital role in a child’s learning since this helps the youngster distinguish between right and wrong. Towards this purpose parents and teachers should impose constructive punishments such as a social service or restricting some incentives I am of the opinion that without rewards and punishments, however, as many times children fail to differentiate between the moral and immoral behaviour. For example, some punishments such as refusing to give presents to children and restricting some benefits like play dates, the use of the TV, the Internet and any electronic device at home, as well as giving extra homework and social jobs such as helping other classmates and teachers and cleaning jobs during recess could be used by parents and teachers as lessons to show children that negative behaviour will always have negative consequences. Though parents may explain their child the reasons behind a moral behaviour, the child may not be in a position to understand the difference. Under such situations, mild punishments for a wrong behaviour and rewards for a right behaviour enable a child to make a distinction. Despite the need for punishment to teach a child, parents and teachers should make sure that the penalty is constructive in nature and not destructive. For instance, a child who misbehaves with parents should be made to spend some time in an old age home so that he develops a maturity to respect others. Similarly, courts often punish juveniles with social service for misdemeanours such as eve-teasing or getting into street brawls. A child should not be physically or mentally abused. Instead, he should be given punishments that enable him to realise his mistakes. In conclusion, punishment is necessary for the moral and ethical development of a child. If children are not given mild, constructive punishments or even withdrawing their perks they will not be able to understand the difference between good and bad. This will make a society less stable and sustainable.