It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn his distinction. with his opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

In child rearing, it is essential to give children proper education on differentiating what is good or bad. Accordingly, some people may argue that punishment is an indispensable way for teaching good behavior to children; however, I strongly believe that punishment actually leads to more undesirable acts. Instead of punishing children, encouraging them by considering alternative consequences such as using a direct language and being a role-model can be applied by both parents and teachers would be better. Firstly, a couple of reasons should be primarily cited in order to show how bad punishment is. One of them is that it could cause a backfire and result in rebellion. To exemplify, if a child has a strong character, inflicting too much pressure may surely lead to his or her outburst. This not only makes a child angry individual but also constitutes a risk for their future. Suppressing self-confidence can be mentioned as a further factor for the unnecessity of punishment. To illustrate, scientific studies conducted on ‘The Impacts of Punishment on Children’ in 2008 have shown that children who had been punished vigorously during their early years formed a criminal profile in their adulthood. That is to say, it can be clearly detected that children brought up to have self-esteem have a tendency to commit crimes compared to the ones grown as a confident individual. As to what kind of alternatives could be applied, one of them appears to be as direct communication with the child and simply warning about what they have just done is wrong. Most children do not like to be treated as children. To explain it further, talking to them directly and explaining the reasons why their behaviour cannot be accepted would be way better than just ordering them to go to their beds and not come out in a certain period of time. While doing that parents and teachers at school should be calm. Because an angry tone does not work in that kind of situations. Second alternative is actually a task given to us as adults. Children tend to copy what they see from adults. For instance, a child with parents who are judges or lawyers can learn from them to be a fair person. If parents at home and officials at school have a good morale and are not exploited by the requirements of the real world, this makes an effective role-model for the children. Last but not least, unlike some people claiming that punishment is a requisite when nurturing a child, in my opinion, it might not form anticipated results and easily lead to raise a bad-tempered child. Rather than giving punishment, using a direct and calm language about the unwanted behaviours and displaying as role-model by not just pretending but actually meaning it should be preferred. To be precise, these two are essential for the upbringing of the young generation.