it is generally acknowledged that families now are not as close as they used to be. What are some possible reasons for this and what can be done to reverse the trend?

Nowadays, families are not as intimate as in the past. At the same time, however, there is some uncertainty as to the causes of this problem, and how it might be resolved. In this essay, I will examine the issue and seek some possible solutions. To begin with, in regard to causes, it is undeniable that the development of technology, to some extent, leads to a distant relationship. For example, some teenagers are addicted to chatting online while they are unwilling to talk with parents. Without frequent communication, it is hard for the family members to understand each other, not to mention getting along well. In addition, the ever-increasing workload gives rise to the decrease of family time. Compared with people in the past, the modern ones work overtime in order to complete a lot of tasks, sacrificing their private time which should have been spent on staying with families. On the other hand, as to solutions, doing family activity is a good way to change the alien relationship, since it provides an opportunity for teenagers to put down their electronic devices and interact with parents. Furthermore, the companies should set reasonable work tasks which are possible to be accomplished in office hours, and in this way workers should be worried about the half-finished work while companying their families. To summarize, there is no doubt that the technology and busy work bring about distant relationship between family members. At the same time, however, family activities and the adjustment of company schedule may turn the alien relationship into the closer one.