it is generally acknowledged that families now are not as close as they used to be. What are some possible reasons for this and what can be done to reverse the trend?

From the perspective of some people, young kids can take advantage of viewing television set programmes. Others, however, hold the view that this is an unhealthy tool. I agree with the former statement to some extent, but in my opinion parents should decide which shows their children should watch. On the one hand, there are several reasons why watching TV is beneficial for children. Firstly, video is an informative and learning tool that can broaden kids' horizons. It serves as a portal of information that can help to be more creative and familiar with the world. Secondly, television can make studying more enjoyable due to the fact that it has educational cartoons that children love to watch. For example, a recent study showed that most teachers prefer to have a computer set in their classroom to help them out in teaching. Thus, watching tv-programmes are educational for children. On the other hand, there are also a large number of reality shows that can have a negative impact on child psychology. There are many programmes broadcasted on TV set such as violence, drugs and so on, that can be unsuitable for kids and spoil their mindset. Although watching cartoons can be beneficial and educational for them, TV viewing sometimes takes away time from reading and doing homework, which may result in low school performance. In addition, the more children watch TV, the less they exercise and the more junk food they eat. Thus, it goes without saying that television is a waste of time. In conclusion, in spite of the fact that television programmes can be informative for kids, I believe that parents should help them to opt the right programmes.