It is generally accepted that families are not as close as they used to be. Give reasons why this change has happened and suggest how families could be brought closer together?

Families, which form the base for socialisation, are not as bonded as they had been in earlier days. It is undeniable that the bonding between the members of the family is weakening gradually during the course of time. The primary reason is time spent together with the family has shrunk. In the rat race to achieve materialistic prosperity, everyone in the family started working in different places, so it is quite evident that they hardly have quality time with each other. For instance, if both parents in a family are the breadwinners then it is obvious that their words would be left aloof most of the time. Thus the space left for love and affection to blossom in such a nuclear family has become less frequent. Another connected reason is the addiction to electronic gadgets. This contemporary world drives people to become technophilic. Despite having leisure time, these days it appears that it is not well spent with the loved ones because of laptops and smartphones. This is because these gadgets have access to the internet which in turn opens ways for social networking sites like Facebook and YouTube. Thus there is a larger probability that the citizens might get hooked and engrossed. Since these consume more time, the time spent with family has lessened. With regard to the suggestions to bind the families together, it is recommended that if everyone decides to be with their family every weekend then definitely it would compensate the time they worked round the clock throughout the week. Therefore, in my opinion, this weekend bonds might even make individuals emotionally more attached to other members of the family and could strengthen their relationship. To conclude, most of the populaces are deprived of time for spending with their families either because of aspiration for materialism or addiction to gadgets. This has made a dramatic change that the family members are not as closer to each other like years ago, so it is suggested to spend weekends with family to make up their relationship.