MANY HIGH-LEVEL POSITIONS IN COMPANIES ARE FILLED BY MEN EVEN THOUGH THE WORKFORCE IN MANY DEVELOPED COUNTRIES IS MORE THAN 50 PERCENT FEMALE. COMPANIES SHOULD BE REQUIRED TO ALLOCATE A CERTAIN PERCENTAGE OF THESE POSITIONS TO WOMEN.

In a large number of developed nations, over half of the staff is of women and in spite of this, numerous top positions are allocated to male employees in the corporation. It is argued that there is a need to allow the desired fraction of these posts to female workers. In my opinion, I completely disagree with the above argument because senior positions ought to be assigned on the basis of qualifications, experience, and skills, not gender. Firstly, allotment of higher positions should be based on the qualification of the employees, not on their sex. The senior posts require individuals who are well-qualified, so the selection for the concerned place should be done while keeping in mind the degrees of the workforce. For instance, the recruitment of senior personnel in many multinational enterprises is done in accordance with the educational qualification of an employee. Another criterion for assigning a top place in organisations are job experience and practical expertise. People who are trained and possess a certain set of skills add value to the companies and these kind of individuals are more suitable for the higher posts. Moreover, greater the number of years an individual has devoted to the corporation, more experienced a person is. This results in the maturity to take important decisions during the need of the hour. In other words, experience and practical expertise assist in the growth of the company. Take, for example, the business employer allot top management position to the employee who has excellent interpersonal skills along with experience. In conclusion, in the organisations, the gender neutrality should be maintained in the allocation of the senior positions and other norms, namely academic success, practical skill and experience ought to consider for the same.