It is generally accepted that exercise is good for children and teenagers. Therefore, physical education and sport should be compulsory for all students in all schools. What do you think?

Many people agree that exercise is vital for the well-being of children and teenagers. Due to this reason, there is an ongoing argument whether physical education and sports should be made a mandatory component in the school education system. My personal opinion is in favor of this argument, considering the substantial benefits that it adds to different aspects of the lives while growing up. One of the major advantages of exercising is, maintenance of good physical health regardless of age. This is far more important for the growing up children, since physical activities support bone development and growth of the body. Exercises enable reduction of obesity of the children, and activate proper blood and hormonal flow, which are crucial for them health-wise. Secondly, engaging in sports and physical activities assists psychological development of children. Spending time in nature, interacting with other kids, and facing challenges, ensure mental well-being and social skills development of the youngsters. On the contrary, in the present day, children are addicted to video games and prefer to stay indoors watching tv shows for most of their free time. Unhealthy food habits worsen the situation by leading the way to various health issues such as diabetes, cholesterol and being overweight even at a younger age. If sports and physical education components are made compulsory, juniors will engage in some physical activity as a part of their school schedule unless they have certain physical or psychological restraints. This will enhance their enthusiasm towards sports, and exercising will become a habit of their lives subsequently. However, if sports and physical education are not mandatory within the curriculum, children will take up hobbies and habits which are unhealthy, eventually disrupting their growth and mental development. Therefore, my conclusion is that mandatory sports or exercise segments within schools are pivotal in upholding the physical, psychological and social well-being of kids and teenagers.