It is generally accepted that exercise is good for children and teenagers. Therefore, physical education and sport should be compulsory for all students in all schools. What do you think?

Undoubtedly, outdoor sports has many health benefits and is beneficial for people of all ages. Therefore, it is argued by many to make physical education mandatory in schools. I disagree with this to an extent and will discuss why this can take a toll over the child’s overall development, who might not be leaned towards the outdoor activities. Some students are academically smarter and are least interested in playground sports. They enjoy solving theoretical problems with their logical reasoning, which makes them apt for certain professions such as Mathematician, Physicist or a scientist. Compulsory physical education in the schools may leave them with lesser time to pursue their hobbies. A recent study conducted by The Harvard’s School of Social Sciences revealed that 87% of the Mathematicians in the United States opted for the library over sport’s time during high school. While it is possible to make student’s compulsory involvement in physical education, it is highly likely that they will not have enough time at their disposal, which could be put to use in something more constructive. For instance, many students opt for indoor sports in their school curriculum instead and come out with flying colours pursuing their passion. Can you imagine a world without actors, artists or researchers? Not everyone is leaned to be a Messi or Ronaldo. In conclusion, we should promote exercise among youngsters by making them aware of the benefits it offers, instead of making it a must to do activity in their curriculum. They may choose to include outdoor sports in their lifestyles beyond their school hours and live healthily. Rather, the school should focus on understanding the child’s natural inclination and correspondingly support them to pursue their interests.