It is expected that there will be a higher proportion of older people than that of young people in many countries in the future. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Projections show that the percentage of senior citizens will be larger than that of young people in various parts of the world. Although this trend brings some positives, I believe that it is generally disadvantageous for families and countries. On the one hand, one advantage of ageing population might be a more experienced and skilled labor force. This benefits companies and organizations as people who have been working for a long time tend to make wiser decisions, which is less likely to cause losses. An evidence of this is that a large number of people in senior positions are the elder people who have had more than 10 years of tenure. These people can also train novice personnel, who are fresh graduates with minimal experience, until they can fully hold a position. On the other hand, the expected growth in life expectancy may lead to a lack of people in the working age, which in many countries is currently set at 60 to 65 years old. As a result, companies will have to seek employees overseas, and more people have to depend on their families for the means when they retire. This places financial burdens on families when the younger generations have to pay for the elder ones’ healthcare and daily necessities. Also, this trend may increase insurance premiums, which put taxpayers under strain, since the likelihood of contracting diseases increases as people age. In conclusion, although ageing population provides a more experienced and adept labor force, it means that less people will be capable of working and thus puts younger generations under financial pressure.