It is expected that there will be a higher proportion of older people than that of young people in many countries in the future? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Overpopulation posts numerous threats to the society, in which aging is a controversial one. Nevertheless, in many regions, an increase in the number of senior citizens in the following years is forecast, drawing argument about its benefits to the community. In this essay, I will demonstrate why I strongly hold the pros of this rise certainly outweigh its cons. On the one hand, many people believe the estimated upcoming outburst of older people casts a burden on the country’s workforce. Accordingly, the government is bound to pay a considerable amount of money for finding a replacement source to domestic workers. To be more specific, in countries where most of their population is over 50 years old, such as Korea, money is spent to hire laborers from outside the country to fill in the blanks in the labor force. While countries are racing to develop, such a deep dependence on foreign workers is risky in the long term. On the other hand, the advocate of this promised trend supports that it will bring benefits to the country. This group of aging people is a sign of science development, remaining a magnet for foreign patients worldwide to flock to their country. For example, many Vietnamese patients have spent millions on trips to Singapore to meet their noble health service. What is more, they are a backup workforce to deal with difficulty young people cannot do. Take the aged in Japan as an example, they insist to go to radiated areas and help clean toxic waste instead of the adolescent. In short, a higher proportion of old people is expected to rise in many places in the coming years, which can affect human resources noticeably. However, my belief is there are more advantages than disadvantages to a country to gain from this trend since they contribute greatly to the nation in their own ways.