Many people believe that social networking sites like Facebook have had a negative impact on both individuals and society.

In these days, with the advent of technology, social networking sites such as Facebook, Twitter and Instagram are becoming increasingly popular. Some masses believe that these sites have a negative impact on the individuals and the community. I agree with the notion that social networking sites have a negative effects and explain reasons in the upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, there are reason why social networking sites have adverse impact on individuals. The first and the predominant reason is that people relationships have become shallow. Most of the individuals spend a lot of time online so they do not have time to visit their friends or relatives. For example, in the past time people used to get together at least once a month, but nowadays most of the folks do not know many of their relatives. Hence, there are no close relationship in this era. Moreover, there are also negative effect on the local community. The majority of the people waste hours in front of laptops or smartphones chatting on Facebook with this they fail to pay attention to their work. For instance, students do not perform best in exams because they spend more time on computers or mobile instead of studying. As a result, social networking sites hinder the progress of the community. In conclusion, although Facebook and other sites have their own merits however, l strongly agree that social networking sites have more detrimental effects on both the individuals and society. People ought to used properly so that they obtain more merits rather than demerits.