Childhood obesity is an increasing problem in Australia. As many as tow thirds of children are now obese. Schools have a responsibility to monitor what their students eat and the amount of exercise they do.

Obesity in young children is becoming an ongoing concern, especially in Australia where 33 percent of them are considered to be drastically overweight. As the young students spend majority of their day at school, their food intake and exercise regime should be dependent on schools to lead a healthier lifestyle. In this essay, I will discuss why I completely agree with this statement focusing on the reasons such as the amount of time primary and secondary school students spend at school, accessibility and peer support within their friendship. Firstly, students in Australia, specifically in Melbourne, students spend approximately 6 hours at school daily and majority of their day involves around school activities. Many parents believe that children should be given an opportunity to learn how to monitor their food intake and exercise output at schools. For example, school dinner schemes and sports programmes are being implemented in schools by the government to introduce good eating habits as well as tips on how to stay active. It would be significantly more convenient and easily accessible for younger generations to improve their lifestyle. Secondly, peer support is vital when it comes to children. A recent research shows that Australian students learn best when they are working collaboratively with their friends and classmates. Schools should be in charge of providing a variety of competitive sports classes on a daily basis where the students can have a chance to participate and educate themselves. If schools provide a safe environment for young impressionable generations to get involved in health and sports classes, then it would have a major impact on reducing the obesity rate in Australia. Lastly, in order to tackle an issue such as childhood obesity, it needs be a nation-wide approach as this would be beneficial for everyone. I strongly believe that schools should be responsible then parents could be a factor in motivating the children even further.