Fossil fuel is the main source of energy. In some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged.

In recent years, governments in countries have directed their attention to alternative sources of energy such as solar, nuclear or tidal energy. In my opinion, this trend could be both advantages and disadvantages, as now will be discussed. To begin with, there is an ample convincing evidence that renewable energy is undoubtedly a step forward in the future. Firstly, it is clear that alternative energy is unlimited while fossil fuel will soon exhaust due to the increasing demand today. Already, for this reason, depending on non renewable energy cannot guarantee long-term sustainability. Human should therefore seek for other or additional sources of energy which are more reliable and sustainable sooner or later. Secondly, environmental pollution is starting to grow owing to the combustion of fossil fuels through production process. In addition, exhaust fumes from vehicles which run on oil or petroleum can also contribute to the greenhouse gases and global warming. However, if a more eco-friendly source of power like solar or wind is used instead, our world will become greener and therefore, people’s health can be improved. Despite the good impacts mentioned above, I believe that using alternative energy could be detrimental to some extent. Firstly, nuclear energy can be turn into a weapon. The pace of our world would not be endangered unless it is possessed by terrorist organizations. Secondly, this type of energy is largely dependent on weather, which may cause interruptions in power supply. It is almost impossible, for example, people use solar power in cloudy days. It goes without saying that the use of nuclear power can be put human’s life in jeopardy. Nuclear radiation accident in Japan is an example, which had led to numerous lethal effects to individuals and disasters to the surrounding environment. In conclusion, although the benefit of alternative sources is unquestionable but its downsides should not be overlooked as well. Governments should therefore take serious consideration before coming up with the most suitable type of energy for their countries.