It is common practice for some students to take a gap year between high school and university in order to do charitable work abroad in under developed countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages for young people of doing volunteer work?

Nowadays, teenagers are taking a break year between high school and university to volunteer for some organizations for charitable work. Although there are several drawbacks of doing that, but I believe that are many benefits and obtaining more experience is one of them. On the one hand, there are numerous advantages of young people who start to do more volunteering work after they graduate from high school, which I think they are very helpful. Firstly, when teenagers volunteer, they’ll get more experiences from professional people which will eventually benefit them in work or university. In other words, old and educated people who are wealth with knowledge will teach those young people lessons for jobs but most importantly about life. Secondly, young people comprehend how to socialize more with other people who have different mindsets and ages. For example, Tom Johnson, an 18 years old boy, volunteered once in the Emirate Red Crescent and went to Africa. Due to the poverty and diseases, lots of Africans were unable to talk or hear, therefore Tom faced an issue with that. So, he started to communicate with them in body and sign language. On the other hand, taking a gap before studying in university have few disadvantages on the teenagers. One of the negative outcomes is that they may forget the lessons they have took in high school, which are necessary for the first year of college. Since the young people volunteered after high school, they will suffer from a lack of essential information that have been taught in high school. To illustrate, a recent survey conducted by the Times Magazine has showed that 30% of American students failed in the test for registering in the university and the reason of that is doing two years of charitable work after school. In conclusion, students are volunteering for a year before registering to a university; however, there are some positive and negative outcomes of this. In my point of view, students should think about the downsides more so it will not affect them in the future.