It is common practice for some students to take a gap year between high school and university in order to do charitable work abroad in underdeveloped countries What are the advantages and disadvantages for young people of doing volunteer work

Modernization has been a catalyst in the change of living lifestyle. This has created a divide in people's opinion about living in a house or an apartment. With the help of studies and examples I will delineate how living in an apartment is more helpful than its counterpart. To begin with, most of the urban cities are highly populous and will continue to grow, owing to this getting a house in such a city, will burn up lifelong savings. Also, having a house, creates a lot of dependencies in terms of facilities, unlike apartments you are not sharing gyms, swimming pools, security and so on. A recent study by Oxford university showed that 70% of the population of metropolitan cities stays in apartments and 40% of them prefer their current living arrangement in the long run. Staying in apartments also provides a sense of security, due to the presence of next door neighbours. Thus, it is evident that, staying in apartments not only helps you to feel secure, but is also economical in urban cities. On the other hand, staying in houses gives a whole different set of pros, which apartments cannot provide. One can build houses, brick to brick depending on his own needs, which allows you to customize the layout as you want. Concurrently, you can only have the facilities that you need, rather than the whole pack. Also, unlike apartments, over noisy neighbours won't be a major point of concern due to increased space between the houses. Concurrently, you won't be bound to building restrictions such as no pets, no maintenance work after a certain time and so on. Hence, even though living in houses can be costly, but we can see from the above points that it comes with its own luxurious benefits, independence and solace. In conclusion, I would like to say, yes, there are more disadvantages of staying houses than apartments as in todays over growing world, apartments provide serves to most of our needs, making houses more of a luxury than necessity.