It is better to provide money for teenagers as gifts.

Gone are the days when teenagers were not appreciated by their parents, while, these days, parents tend to give money as gifts. Many a sceptic believes that this could bring negative implications on teenagers future life, however both sides are discussed below and an inference is arrived at end. On the one hand, it is better to develop money managing skills for the children, since it would be useful in their future. It is true that the world has transformed to a consumeristic lifestyle, especially from the turn of 20th century; accordingly, youths need to be both well aware as well as well-equipped with the wise use of money. Besides imbibing money managing skill, teenagers are understanding to make the right actions through appreciation from others. Parents in Sweden, for instance, promote their teenagers by giving money along with their supervision to ensure that this action might not bring any harm. As such, the more the teenagers are appreciated via money, the more they develop money management skills. On the other hand, having proved in many western nations, namely the USA, by providing money to teenagers, there is a tendency for them to indulge in illegal activities. They are likely to be influenced by their peer groups to consume alcohol or drugs. As a consequence, students might lose their focus on academics; their psychological health is also negatively affected. With reasonable disposable income, they might also have a chance to become materialistic, as they purchase commodities not just to meet their requirements. Indeed, teenagers would feel independent, for which, the relationship with parents are also directly affected. Finally, if the parents provided money as present to teenagers, it would be only helpful for them to lead an anti-social life. In conclusion, although there are merits like developing money management skills, when money is provided to teenagers as gifts, the negative repurcussions outweigh its positives. Had previous generation provided money to their children as presents, it would not have stood in good stead for this generation.