Some people think that money is the best gift to give to young people, while others think other types of gifts are better for young people.

It can be a struggle to select an appropriate gift for a young relative or the child of a friend. While some believe that money is the best type of tip, I agree with those who suggest other gifts are more suitable. Many people believe that money makes an excellent present. Proponents of this view may suggest that young people already have what they need in terms of toys and gadgets and so giving them more will not be of benefit. They also argue that the young may actually learn valuable skills from the process of choosing to save or spend their wages. For example, if the young customer chooses to spend the cash, they will learn the value of things that they wish to buy and what they can or cannot afford. This could make them more financially mature and independent. On the other hand, I am in agreement with those who believe that actual gifts are better than wealth. An important reason is that cash is quite an impersonal gift since it shows no understanding of the interests of the receiver. It is therefore more appropriate to give something that shows the adult understands the desires of the young customer, such as a piece of jewellery or the shirt of his/her favourite sports club. Furthermore, an educational gift, such as a book, or a useful gift, such as a watch, allows the young person to develop or improve his/her skills and so will be directly beneficial. In conclusion, whereas many believe that financial gifts may increase independence and be popular, I side with those who suggest gifts showing an understanding of the young customer or which are educational are more beneficial. It is clearly important to consider the needs and interests of young people when selecting gifts.