'Prevention is better than cure'. Researching and Treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventive measures'

The number of people getting sick has dramatically increased over time. The microorganisms have become stronger fighting the immune system of human beings. Also, the discovery of new microbes has created anxiety among doctors and scientists. It has become quite expensive to deal with such morbidities, therefore, we should focus more on preventive actions rather than treatment. In my opinion, I agree with the proverb, 'Prevention is better than cure' as it is better to stop something bad from happening rather than dealing with it after it has happened. The process of treating and studying an illness is not only costly but also very lengthy. If we take dentistry as an example, it takes a few dollars to get your teeth cleaned and avoid any caries, while it takes hundreds of dollars to get your tooth restored after it has occurred. Sometimes, it takes months to years to fight disease after it has occurred while it only takes days to stop it. For example, remedy for Tuberculosis involves taking four medicines for a period of 9 months, while it can be prevented with a single dose of vaccine. However, some defects cannot be prevented such as developmental and genetic, but research can be carried out to arrest these from causing any further damage. Moreover, curing also has a negative effect on the mental and social well being of the person. For instance, cancer patients going under chemotherapy usually lose their hair and undergo social trauma. According to one study, patients undergoing chemotherapeutic management for a tumor are more likely to face depression and eventually give up. To conclude, I would like to say that more and more research is needed on prevention programs rather than curing since it is not only less expensive but also saves a great deal of time and avoid any unfortunate incident.