It is better for children to grow up in the countryside than in a big city. use specific reason examples to develop your essay.

In recent years, taking a year out before starting a degree course has been a popular trend among students. Although some feel that this trend has been a negative impact, I, however, believe that it has benefited students in two main reasons. Firstly, a gap year is a valuable period of time for students to have a clear career objective. While I concede that taking a break between school and university could be a distraction for further studies, the problem is that a majority of students in high school have inadequate vocational training which easily leads to wrong decisions related to what school they should apply for. As a result, they could waste from four to five years on the major which is not really suitable for them. This also means that after graduation, they reluctantly accept to do jobs, which they do not like. Therefore, a year off is certainly a great chance for school leavers to be sufficiently aware of their abilities as well as their real taste of employment. The second reason why a year off has been an essential benefit is probably self-development. Students can take advantage of this favourable opportunity to boost knowledge and broaden experiences which colleges or universities do not teach. Take language skill for example. School leavers might spend a year break learning a new language through working, travelling or volunteering abroad. There is the fact that a good command of a foreign language is instrumental in most kinds of careers. Therefore, if you can use one or several languages fluently, you will perhaps be golden to many employers. Furthermore, some of the top universities offer a language degree as an entrance qualification. Hence, a great language skill is likely to make it easier for students to be admitted into high-quality universities. In conclusion, a year out could be considered as a good chance for students to reach a specific career objective and purposely equip with necessary skills in an effort to develop themselves. Therefore, although I acknowledge that a year break can give rise to a disruption in academic progress, I agree that it generally creates many considerable merits for students.