It is believed that people who read for pleasure have developed a better imagination and better language skills than those who prefer to watch TV.

There is a belief that people who entertain themselves by reading could be more imaginative and write better than those who would rather watch TV. I neither agree nor disagree with this opinion because both of these entertainment methods have equal benefits. First, some people believe that reading books would stimulate their creativity and imagination. This argument could be true to some extent. For example, scientists discovered that the human brain has mechanism to create memories of objects their surroundings in one' s environment described in words and sentences. However, television programs are like dynamic books, they make words come alive by light and sound effects. For instance, it is difficult to understand phenomena caused by natural processes around us if we do not use eye-catching illustrations and sound effects. Static diagram in paper documents cannot provide this for readers. Second, there is no denying that if a reader collects new words and grammars from books, magazine and newspaper, it is a good way to learn a language. However, language skills have many aspects and reading is only one. The other important skills are listening and speaking which are only improved by listening to audios and seeing images on TV. A typical example is a new method to learning English which is becoming popular on many TV shows. Audiences could enjoy their favorite shows and learn how to pronounce difficult words and how to use them in life by subtitles inserted by the producers. Taking all of this into account, while reading can help people to improve their imagination and language skills, I believe that TV programs have the same advantages.