It is believed that education is of vital importance to the development of individuals and the well-being of societies. What should education consist of?

During the children's growth, it is crucial to teach them the ability to tell right and wrong in the early stage. Some parents believe that punishment is an essential way to conduct children's behaviour. However, I deem that punishment should not be taken part in parenting. First, punishment might cause bad effect toward children's mental health. If parents and teachers punish children constantly, they may feel resentful and refuse to listen to their family or teachers. What wore is that it might lead to destroy children's self-esteem, and influence their whole life after they grow up. For instance, there are plenty of mental diseases and depression were caused by the punishment that they received during their childhood. Second, parents and teachers should be a children's role model instead of punishing their misbehaviour. It is more effective and pivotal for parents or teachers to guide children when they behave what they want children to be. Furthermore, the great example of their parents and teachers will be more impressed for children than punishment. Take myself as an example, my mother taught me that lying to others is an unmoral behaviour. And because my mom never lie to anyone, I always take her as my role model to remind myself not to lie. To sum up, discipline would be completely unnecessary, if parents and teachers can conduct children as being their role model. In addition, there are many others methods could teach children without any punishment which could lead to a better future for children.