It is believed by many people that ‘If people have more money, they are generally happier. ’

It is commonly believed that money brings happiness. However, it is a debatable fact that wealthier persons are happier and happiness is directly related to the money. According to me, money plays a vital in gaining happiness but a person feels joyful because of several reasons and they may or may be linked with money. To begin with, money is important to satisfy the basic needs for survival. Nowadays, we require money everywhere- that could be educational institutions, hospitals, supermarkets, et cetera. A rich person can obviously afford to visit various places around the world, which makes one happier. Moreover, today, for spiritual or philosophical guidance one needs money. In few cases, one may obtain joy by helping the needy people by giving a handsome amount of donations. In this way, one might get happiness. Therefore, one may consider that, ‘Money is the existing God’ in today’s world and one becomes happier when one has money. However, real happiness is priceless and it cannot be attained with money. Some others may argue that money could be useful to purchase the required things, nevertheless, one cannot buy happiness. For example, the happiness in the eyes of a mother when she gives birth to a baby cannot be bought by money. Next, real happiness is directly linked to the soul satisfaction. One can get exuberant joy without money as if by participating in charity work and so on. Hence, it is clear that one cannot relate happiness with money. Money can buy a luxurious house but cannot guarantee joy. Happiness comes from a satisfied soul and sound body while money can ensure the materialistic joys. To summarise, one may consider that money is very crucial in achieving happiness and some sort of people may also consider that ‘money makes the mare go’. However, what I believe is that money is certainly an important factor but not a sole factor to achieve happiness. Thus, I strongly disagree that happiness is obtained by money in all the cases.