In recent time economic growth has made some people richer in both developed and developing countries. While studies show that people in developing countries are happier now than before, people in developed countries are no happier than they were before.

Recently, some people have become richer both in developed countries and developing countries because of the economic growth. The result of some studies presents that people in developing countries are happier than before while people in developed countries are in the opposite situation. This phenomenon might have happened because of two main reasons that I will discuss below. Competition is the first reason why people in developed countries are no happy that they were. Due to the economic growth, companies put them self in a competition. This condition creates new rules to workers. Employees are forced to work harder than before to avoid being beaten by other companies in terms of technology, quality and quantity. Take mobile phone companies as an example. They compete to develop new technology to attract consumers. People in developing countries, on the other hand, are focused more on building their businesses instead of competing each other because many of the companies are categorised as small to medium companies. The second reason is the time spent. When there are many competitions among companies, there is more work to do for the workers. This will lead to more time spent in the workplace rather than spending times to their private life. Unconsciously, these companies increase the stress level of their workers which means people in developed countries are no happy than before. In the opposite situation with that, people in developing countries become happier because they can earn more money for their family than they were, even though they have to spend more time in workplaces. It decreases their stress level. From two reasons I mentioned above, it is clearly seen that economic growth can bring wealthy to both countries which are the good side of it but the work pressure and the time spent are not worth for some people especially in developed countries which are the dark sides of economic growth. It also shows that wealthy is not the main guarantee for people to gain happiness in life, there is quality time with friends and families too.