It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

There has been a significant increase in the number of students taking a year gap after completing school but before starting their higher education at University. As students can wisely choose the coursework they want to pursue and rejuvenate their mind during the time off but there are also drawbacks to be taken into account. On the one hand, there are several advantages to children taking an year off. Firstly, they get adequate time to decide what they want to pursue further in their career path. For example, this will help with drop in the number of suicides at the university level as students will be enrolled in tough courses like medicine, or engineering willingly and would remain strong enough to cope up with the pressure during the coursework. Secondly, a gap year will help students to prepare well for the entrance examinations to get admission in the deemed universities by focusing entirely on that exam. Thirdly, it will help to refresh and rejuvenate the brain before entering the world of competition where you constantly feel peer pressure to achieve success. On the other hand, one major problem of taking time off is that it takes you to a higher extent of comfort level which makes it more difficult for them to catch up with the workload full of assignments, homework, research, and examinations at University. Another possible issue is that with no motivation and competitive environment around, student starts taking drugs which makes the situation vulnerable as they get distracted from their career pathway. In conclusion, while students can get into their dream universities by working hard for a year. However, it might spoil the life of students by making them lethargic and addicted to drugs.