It Is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It is a known fact that these days the number of students taking a break before heading to college is gradually getting higher. Having time off from education would certainly be beneficial in some occasions but there will also be some drawbacks. One evident benefit for having a gap year is the chance of exploring life and interests. In other words, it is advantageous and exciting when people are practicing jobs that they admire, therefore some of the students chose to have time away from school to explore the field they enjoy. Another reason is simply the need to relax and getting away from the stress of studying. For instance, most of students take the chance to travel and learn about other cultures. On the other hand, skipping school for a whole year has some disadvantages. Firstly, some of these students become dropouts due to the fact that they lost interest in college after their break. To state it in a different meaning, some students find jobs and believe that education is not important for a successful career resulting in not returning to college. Secondly, after one year away from studies, some forget most of concepts learned in school. Consequently, they will have to work harder than most colleagues. In conclusion, taking a break before joining college can be advantageous for people who wishes to use the time off to find their passion and engage is life experiences. However, they should be cautious and aware of the extra effort they have to provide.