It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

These days, many people are considering taking a year off between school and university. Having a year off can have its advantages and disadvantages depending on how one utilises their available time. In this essay, I am going to discuss the benefits and problems associated with this and support them with examples. Firstly, One benefit of having a year off is, it can be spent on honing one's skills and knowledge before entering the university. This can be useful as students can improve their understanding of various subjects and focus on their weaknesses. An increased grip on the subject can help improve the grades achieved at the university, thus overall increasing the job prospects. Furthermore, one can also gain practical knowledge by working in this free time which could lead to better college opportunities and scholarships. This is because institutions prefer someone who has both practical and good grades rather than someone who has only better grades. However, if the time off is wasted and not spent properly then it can be a disadvantage. This is an issue because a person can lose touch with his subjects which can affect his performance in the college. Also, they might have to take the extra burden of preparing the basics taught in school along with studying the university subjects. This could result in more stress and further deterioration of their grades and health. To conclude, even though taking time off before joining a university is ideal, whether it's an advantage or not entirely depends on how one chooses to utilise the time available.