Ambition is being emphasized in today’s society. How important do you think it is for people who want to succeed in life? Is it a positive or negative characteristic?

Nowadays, ambitious personality is being highlighted. This essay will discuss the significance of this characteristic for individuals who are trying to achieve success and whether it is a good or bad trait. To start with, it is absolutely crucial to have ambition in order to achieve something in life. Firstly, to reach the ultimate goal, an individual would have to stay motivated from the start of the project until the end. This can be achieved by being ambitious as it will help encourage a person to be persistent and determined to reach the point of success. Some examples of successful people with great ambitions are, Mark Zuckerburg, Steve Jobs, and Bill Gates. Secondly, ambition can help progress a person’s career. As this trait can enhance an employee’s performance by helping them work harder and more efficiently, it is very likely that they would get promoted to a higher rank. Nevertheless, while ambition is beneficial from a professional standpoint, it may damage personal relationships. To illustrate, being extremely determined to achieve a goal, some people are willing to belittle others, like coworkers, in order to succeed. For example, a person may want to get a promotion, but another employee is more qualified, so they gossip about their competitor’s flaws to their employer. Hence, being too ambitious can cause other personnel to distance themselves from the individual. Furthermore, being too ambitious may also lead to bad mental health. As determination can bring stress and unsatisfaction with the work that a person may be trying accomplish, it would cause issues with well-being, like migraines, depression and other psychological problems. In conclusion, although ambition is important in terms of success and career advancement, it may affect emotional strength and harm certain relationships, especially those in a workplace.