It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages.

There is a rise number of student taking a gap year between graduating in high school and beginning the post-secondary education. While this offers a few advantages, there are also some disadvantages which are worth considering. There are two main benefits to student of having a year off before continuing their university education. Firstly, they can spend their time by travelling and expand their horizons. When student go overseas, they will be learn about different culture and customs. As a result, they will gain a deeper understanding of the world. Moreover, they also fulfill their time by working and obtain amount of money, student who work will learn to appreciate the value of money. This is because they will realize the hard work involved in earning money. Therefore, they would think twice before purchasing anything they want and may become less impulsive in their spending. On the other hand, various drawback may be noted. In the first place, student who do not know what will they do in a year off will feel depressed due to the fact that they will compared their self to their friends who are starting the tertiary education. In addition, student who is travelling in another state or place will feel less suitable with the lifestyle and becoming homesick. This may make them regret to not being in university. Furthermore, student who work may not want to return their studies. The reason for this is that they may enjoy earning money and becoming financially independent. Hence, it is very important for everyone to graduate with a degree in order to be competitive in the job market. In conclusion, taking a gap year may provide some positive impact like gain some new experience and become independent in relation to money. However, they may also become depressed and not continuing their studies. Therefore, it is necessary to weigh the advantages against the disadvantages carefully before taking a big step.