It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Gap year or a year off after the ending of high school and the beginning of college is the choice of many students. Recently, this option has turned into a popular trend in a large amount of schools. This essay will analyze the benefits as well as the drawbacks of this development. It is clear that a gap year between high school and university has some noteworthy positive effects. What make the year off stands out is the opportunity for students to consider their future career. This would mean that they could schedule their future prospective and sharpen the skills they needs. Another benefit of gap year would that student can relax after a long period of constantly studying. For example, in Vietnam there is a twelve years compulsory program which all children should attend. The workload is quite enormous therefore a gap year is suitable. Nevertheless, there are drawbacks to such development. First and foremost, this might be a heavy burden on the employee market. At present, various jobs are under shortage of employees, and so a year off would mean a delay of new human resources. In addition, one year away from studying could make student to lose their study habits. It would be difficult for them to follow their usual timetables. As a result, they will find it hard to blend in the university’s study pace. In conclusion, a year off between high school and university is worth considering, but there are advantages and disadvantages of such phenomenon.