It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to University. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

There is an increased practice of staying 12months before enrolling in a tertiary institution. This is advantageous owing to the fact that it allows for the people involved to get more prepared, but there are some drawbacks to be taken into account. There is a number of useful benefits that the one year brings. Firstly, it avails the opportunity for them to learn essential life skills that will be beneficial to them in the near future. This will help them become self reliant while waiting for jobs after their University education. For example, some who acquire fashion designing skills can make some significant income from it both while in school as a part-time and after rounding off. The result of this is that the become more beneficial to themselves and the society at large. In addition, the one year period makes them more mature and prepared them mentally for the challenges that await them at the University environment. On the other hand, despite the merits stated above, some pitfalls exist. During the wait period, their brains may not be very active anymore and ready for studies, consequently leading to poor performance at the early stage of in school. Furthermore, some individuals may get carried away by the funds and excitements realized from working on doing business which can serve as a distraction and sometimes discourage some from attending higher institutions at all result to less enlightened citizens in a Country. Also, some may give in to peer pressure and join bad gangs, thereby causing a havoc to the society. For instance, an idle teenager can start indulging in practices like cigarette smoking within this period as well as getting involved with hard drugs. In conclusion, the gap between secondary schools and University offers some major benefits; However, people should be wary of the disadvantages like corrupt young adults that may be raised within that period.