It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Recently, there are more people opting for a gap year before they go for their tertiary studies after graduating high school. Although there are differing views, I feel that there are more advantages than the disadvantages. One evident benefit of taking a gap year is that it allows students to have a new experience of their usual school life. For example, students can go for internships or volunteering activities during their gap year. Other than studying in a traditional classroom, they get to learn new skills and obtain hands-on experience. Secondly, students are allowed more time to decide on their future study pathways. After high school, students are usually rushed to go to universities and they might choose a course which is not suitable for them. During their gap year, students can explore and dive deep into their interests. They also can apply for jobs in their field of interest so they can decide if they want to enrol in a related course in university. On the other hand, students might also face drawbacks by taking a year off before going to university. First of all, students might not utilise their gap year well, resulting in a waste of time. Although it is acceptable to take time off studying, it does not mean that students can spend time wastefully. Students might end up spending their time on games and other entertainment unproductive for the whole year. In conclusion, although opinions are diverse, I believe that the advantages far outweigh the drawbacks. Therefore, students do not need to shy away from the idea of taking a gap year before making a major decision of your study pathway.