In some countries, it is possible for people to have a variety of food that has been transported from all over the world. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

With the advanced transportation systems, a wider range of food products can be delivered throughout all the world. Although some people insist many benefits can be anticipated from importing food items, I would argue that this has more harmful effects on society. Admittedly, importing food products could bring about some positive consequences. To begin with, many people can enjoy many different kinds of food, owing to expanding international trade. Each country has different environment. Therefore, each ground can grow different types of vegetables and fruits. For example, in Korea, people cannot purchase tropical fruits without international trade. As a result, many people can experience novel food without travelling, sharing traditional cuisine. Another benefit is that the government can build a faithful relationship between countries through trade. This is because they can provide each other with essential food products. Thus, they can have an interaction between them in many good ways. However, I still believe that these benefits can be outweighed by the drawbacks. The increasing amount of transportation in terms of trade can cause environmental issues. A number of emissions can be discharged from these transportations, utilizing a wide range of fossil fuel. Consequently, the environment can be contaminated by the exhaust gas. As a local farmer living in a country which imports products, they find it difficult to survive in marketing. This is because importing food tends to be cost-effective. Therefore, many people are likely to buy imports, instead of domestic items. In this sense, the local producers could face difficulties financially. In conclusion, I understand the positive effects of food imports such as the experience of novel food and establishing relationship between countries. However, according to the aforementioned reasons such as the polluted environment and the financial difficulty of local farmers, I still believe that this should be seen as a negative development.