Some people claim that there are more disadvantages of the car than its advantages. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having a car.

A lot of individuals argue that there are a greater number of disadvantages of a motor vehicle than its advantages. I strongly disagree with this statement. The follwoing essay will highlight both the advantages and disadvantages of a car. The prime disadvantage of a car is that it causes pollution. Since, the vehicle runs on fossil fuels, it augments the level of pollution in the environment. As the number of cars increase, the quality of air decreases in the reverse proportion. For example, a study by the Columbia University shows that each year, the air quality goes down by 28%; because of the increase in the number of cars on the road. However, a car provides us with the luxury of convenience. We can travel as we want at the time of our choice. There is no waiting time required to wait for a bus or a train. For example, if someone wants to visit far end of a city, he or she has to wait for the public transport. Another advantage of a car is that it saves time. Public transportation covers a longer route; hence, incrementing the duration required to reach a destination. But, with a car, you can take your direct route. Therefore, saving up on time. In conclusion, a car does have its disadvatage of contributing to the detrimental quality of the oxygen, that we breathe. However, due to its advantages of allowing the population to have a choice and saving up on time; I firmly am of the opinion that a car has more advantages than disadvantages.