It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, many of the students often take a gap year after their schooling. Despite of the benefit to get some practical experience prior to the start of the college, such time period harms the life of a pupil by delaying a precious year of the academic studies. This essay will discuss the benefits as well as the drawbacks of taking a break before initiating the professional studies. First of all, when the students take some time off before they actually start their professional college education, they plan to either travel or to work. In both of the cases, they get to learn numerous things that are very crucial in their following professional studies. For instance, the travelling teaches interaction with new people which later on proves helpful in the professional life. Also, the travel or work makes a person feel independent that no money can buy. On the other hand, along with the positive effects, such a decison has several bad effects. While some of the students waste their year off in stupid things or doing nothing useful at all, such actions creates a delay in their professional studies and during all this time they actually loose the momentum, which can create severe problems in their college education. For example, according to a report issued by The International Education Organization of India, out of the 2 million students in India, who missed a year before their college studies, only 50000 students were able to complete their university education due to lack of concentration. Such a measure can be disasterous in these cases. To conclude, while the trend of taking some time off before the start of higher college trainings is growing significantly, it involves various merits as well as demerits that we have discussed in this essay.