It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year of between finishing school and going to university. What are the adventatges and disadventatges of this?

Nowadays, there’s more often a lot of students who prefer taking a sevatic year rather than go to university as soon as they finish their undergraduate studies. Despite I believe this option can carry a few disadvantages with it, I also agree that people who have had a year off is better prepared and capable to go to university in the future. Firstly, in one hand, I think that one of the main disadvantages of taking a year off is what concerns relationships. Sometimes, for those students who decide to take a year off, it is more likely to lose their relationship with their classmates and this in some cases can result in isolation and depression, especially in such a young age. One of the other complications is that for some students it might result in a hard effort to keep going with their academic life once they have been a long time out of it. However, on the other hand, I believe that taking a year off is a good opportunity for a lot of students in order to get relaxed and try to do different activities, such as working or travel. For a lot of students, having a job to work at is the best way they have to realize the real meaning of money as well as thinking about what they would like or not to do in the next years of their lives. Furthermore, the lucky ones who have the choice to travel and learn a foreign language, have more experience than those students who go to university as soon as their scholar programme has finished. In conclusion, despite it can be a hard decision I think that having a year off is sometimes necessary in order to have the knowledge and maturity enough that going to university requires.