Although there are more and more women police officers in reality, are they really suitable for this job?

Increasing numbers of women are choosing to work in the police force nowadays and have shown their mettle in this field. The issue raised is whether women are actually suited for such jobs. I believe that not only women suited for such jobs, they are in fact better than men in many areas of police jobs. In many areas of police activity, women are especially adaptable and can even perform better then men. For example, policewomen are especially suitable for working for special police prostitution groups, dealing with trafficking in women within larger cities. They are also better in dealing with domestic violence and juvenile affairs. Policewomen are generally more acceptable to woman and children who have been the victims of the misdeeds of men. Girls and young children have more confidence in women. What is more, the field of crime prevention is becoming more important to police agencies and here policewomen play their greatest role. They are gifted in gaining the confidence of small children and in determining whether behaviour is normal or antisocial. The employment of policewomen offers the best method of finding out the real problem, and then determining the best course of action to pursue. Research conducted internationally clearly demonstrates that woman officers use less physical force and are therefore better at dealing with violent confrontations with citizens. Additionally, women officers often possess better communication skills than their male counterparts and are better in obtaining the cooperation and trust required in their job. They are considered at least equal to male officers in most areas of police work. They have shown no differences in the quality of their performance in street patrolling. Those sceptical about their role of police officers base their argument for women's lack physical strength. However, with proper training even this factor can be overcome. To conclude, female officers are equally capable as their male counterparts. In some situations they have even proved themselves better than men. No wonder, we are seeing more and more women in police force.