It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Every student has different plans for their future. It has become very common for students to take a gap year after school and before starting university. Taking a year off would certainly help in deciding your path and learning skills but there will also be some drawbacks. One evident benefit to taking a year off is getting enough time and exposure to decide your career. In other words, a student can look for multiple jobs and pick and choose one that fascinates him the most. Another reason that taking some time off would be advantageous is that it would provide an applicant with basic skills and knowledge of the course before starting university. Yet another benefit that we gain from taking such a step is being financially independent and supporting our university fees to put less burden on parents. Despite these advantages, there are a few potential disadvantages of taking a gap year. Firstly, A lot of universities consider it as a negative point for an applicant who has taken a year off after school. The admission to universities has become tough over time and recruiters believe that students who avoid university for a year after school are not focused in their life. Secondly, it would result in a late start to the career and ultimately to professional life. A lot of multinational companies also take this into account when reviewing an application. In conclusion, it is a common practice to take an year off before starting the university. While it has plus points such as getting experience to decide a path and getting familiar with the course, it also leaves a negative impact on the profile of such graduates.