It has been said that people who read for pleasure have more developed imaginations and better language skills than people who prefer to watch TV.

It is true that the habits of reading books and watching TV have gained in popularity over the past few decades, making a paradigm shift in the lifestyle of every human on Earth. Although some believe that watching TV is a common way to spend their leisure time, in my opinion, those who prefer reading books become more imaginative and capable of using the language. When comparing to watching TV, reading books contributes to the improvement of readers’ imaginations. First, by reading a variety of book genres, such as science-fiction or novel, readers can not only enhance their literacy but also develop the critical thinking. While TV just broadcasts its man-made visual images, reading book forces readers to understand written words, which acts as an incentive for them to imagine. Second, audiences who addict TV are susceptible to become passive as constant pictures are already displayed before them. In fact, if pictures are shown on the screen, audiences will just accept what they see, which leads to restricted imagination. Another compelling reason is that reading can benefit readers’ language skill. By reading books, readers’ language skills, such as their writing skill or vocabularies, will be improved. For example, TV fans are unwilling to find out their writing skill may be declining, which is proved by spelling or grammatical mistakes they make in writing. in addition, most of TV programs are spoken in an oral style in order to approach a variety of audiences. This means that those languages are not as formal and precise as the ones in books, which are beneficial for developing language skills. In conclusion, I believe that reading for pleasure enhances language skill and imaginations. By doing more reading instead of viewing TV, people’s knowledge would be improved in a variety of ways.