It has been said, “Not everything that is learned is contained in books. ” Compareand contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gainedfrom books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why? Use specificreasons and examples to s

I agree with the statement that " Not everything that is learned is contained in books" . Even though, the books are the first source of knowledge, not everything will be mentioned in the book. Books can be used to gain a theoretical hold on the subject but the real essence of the subject has to be gained by experience. I believe that " Experience/Practice makes man perfect" and nowhere we see the proverbs or statements made saying that books will make man perfect. Considering the saying and experience that I have gained till today in my life, I would give two reasons and respective example to prove why the knowledge gained by experience is more important than gaining the knowledge by books. Many countries nowadays, provide students practical classes in addition with theory classes. For example, the biology subject is having vast theory. With the theory classes, if the students are allowed to take up the practical classes, it will help them to have a deeper understand on the subject and it will be easy for them to remember the point. On the same lines, the doctors during the beginning of their careers, they may not able to diagnose the patients accurately and suggest medicines accurately, this is because, each patient' s body nature will be different and it will take little time for the doctors to understand and suggest best medicines. In contrast, an experienced doctor, will be able to diagnose the problem quickly and accurately and suggest the best medicines. This example will prove that only by experience the man can gain complete knowledge. Not just reading books will help understanding everything. Not only in the medical field, even in the field of learning arts only experience matters. I am a musician. Though, I have the books of different grades, they will not help me how I have sing in a way that will have a mesmerizing effect on the audiences. The best way that I always would prefer to do is, I record the song and then listen to it. If I find that there is a mistake I will try singing it again. After some attempts, I will be able to sing it properly. Here, I feel experience and practice go hand in hand. In this world, we have several examples of great persons, who have achieved greatly in their lives. They did this not just be reading books but by experience. For example, consider Sir Thomas Alva Edison. Edison was a school drop out. But he was a fan of science and introduced " Bulb" to this world. He did several experiments and finally came out with this invention. Hence, again experience won over reading books to gain knowledge. We hail him even today for such a great contribution. Not only Sir Edison, even Bill Gates, who brought Microsoft to this world, can be made stood on the same people' s line. He was able to find success in the life only because of experience. Thus, I would conclude the essay, quoting that " Knowledge gained by experience is more important than knowledge gained by reading books" . Perhaps, reading books will help us to gain little knowledge but it cannot be compared with the knowledge gained by experience.