Do you believe that professional athlete make good role models for young people? Support your opinion with reasons and examples from your own knowledge or experience.

People everywhere like watching sports. Many top athletes are admired throughout their countries, and some even have fans all around the world. These athletes are good role models for young people in many ways, although in some ways they can also be a bad example. Top athletes get the attention of young people. Most children and teenagers like to follow professional sports. Professional athletes become heroes to them, and children want to be like their heroes. This means they will want to play sports, which is good for their health. Playing sports also teaches important lessons such as teamwork and learning how to lose and win gracefully. Professional athletes also demonstrate the importance of working hard for your goals, of practicing regularly to become good at something. This is a good example for children to follow. However, professional athletes are not always good role models. For one thing, the most famous athletes get paid very high salaries, much higher than most normal people can expect to earn. They also get a lot of attention, not only when they play their sports, but in other parts of their lives as well. This can lead children to believe that money and fame are an important part of sports. Children might focus more on these aspects than on the fun of the game or on the challenge of learning how to play well. Then there are those athletes who behave badly. For example, some take drugs to improve their performance in their games. This kind of behavior sends the wrong message to following generation. Professional athletes can be very good role models for children, as long as they focus on the positive aspects of playing sports.