In general, people are living longer now. How will this change affect society? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Obviously, people’s average age has very important effects on society. The population growth and the concomitant demands by the people such as energy, education, food, safety, health care and more. In what follows, I explain my viewpoint about how this change affects the society by providing supporting details and examples. First, the population of the world increases as the people lives longer. Population growth has some good and some disappointing effects. For instance, everyone prefers that his or her parents and grandparents live longer. What’s more, long life is a sign of hope for human race. On the other hands, the more the population of the world, the more the problems and challenges people have to deal with. A good example for this is air pollution. As the Population increases, the number of cars and other transportation systems increases and this process leads to higher pollution of the air. Moreover, people will need superior transportation systems such as metro and trains. Likewise, more garbage will be produced when the population of the world increases. This issue, if not controlled, can cause severe problems, for example, rivers and oceans could be polluted and sea wild life may be jeopardized. Accordingly, the government needs to implement new mechanisms to control this problem such as recycling and reproduction of certain types of materials or enact laws to prevent dispersion of garbage and wastes in nature or rivers and oceans. Secondly, people demand more energy. Consequently, we need more power plants to produce more energy and this adds to the air pollution. Most of power plants burn oil and gas or similar materials to produce energy and this process results more air pollution and waste materials. Besides, people need more facilities such as education, job, safety, health care and more. Therefore, the government needs to consider and pass new legislation to answer new demands. If the government fails to satisfy the people’s needs, for instance education or safety, serious problems engenders in the society such as illiteracy or crimes. As we hear in the news, many people suffer from illiteracy around the world, principally in poor areas like Africa. Safety is another resultant problem of population growth. The more people live in a country, the more competitive the job opportunities are. Correspondingly, the number of crimes in the country increase, because there are always weak people who cannot afford an honest competition. They use illegal ways to get money, no matter what. Therefore, the government needs to control the safety and fight criminals. To sum up, longer lifetime and the concomitant increase of population will lead to many important effects on the society, which I plainly delineated in the body paragraphs. Two of the most important effects are new demands, such as energy, education and job, and pollution like green gasses, garbage and industry and power plant wastes.