Is this a positive or negative developmentIs that governments spend a huge amount of money building public transport?

Transportation methods have changed drastically these days. Lots of nations have allocated an extra budget to enhance their public transportation. However, the question of whether such an investment in this field has a positive or negative impact on individuals is arguably the most debatable one. This essay aims to discuss this interesting topic in further detail and before coming to a conclusion. To begin with, there is no doubt that public transportation has provided a plethora of great benefits to people. Firstly, it participates conspicuously in lessening local pollution and traffic congestion. To illustrate, using different options of public transportation allow individuals to get rid of using their private vehicles in their daily basis. As a result of this move, the amount of fossil fuel that used by their cars will be reduced dramatically and lead to alleviating pollution. Secondly, using public transportation might increase people’s productivity. To elaborate, commuters who spend a long time to reach their destinations can utilize their time by reading, learning or even relaxing which’s not applicable if they are driving. On the flip side, public transit has some drawbacks for people. First of all, the trips schedule and route are fixed. This issue in fact makes this option inappropriate for many people who would like to reach their destination without passing all stop points that buses or metro do. Finally, there is no privacy in public transportation. In other words, many strangers might hear your phone conversation or even look at your mobile screen and you can do nothing for that. To sum up, although public transit might has offered poor privacy as well as inconvenient trip schedule, I wholeheartedly believe that it’s the cheapest, most comfortable and safest option to many individuals.