Internet social media have become very popular. Why do you think this is the case?

Internet has become the basic need for our day to day activities. A number of people think that it is a good sign for social media to become popular on the internet, while the others believe otherwise. I would like to discuss both the views of the topic in this essay. To begin with, the internet has given access to communicate and share information with others around the world. This is because with the help of online social media being very popular like Facebook and Instagram, it has become very easy to connect and share new ideas with people around the world. For instance, Facebook social groups, where people are interested in an idea or an event can join a group and share information with users in the group. In addition to that, spreading of awareness to millions of people in a short span of time is possible with the help of online social media. For example, information about a deadly virus named corona was spread across the internet and has saved millions of lives around the globe. On the other hand, the internet has become the common place for identity theft and online scams. Online shopping where people tend to purchase goods are promoted to buy products for a huge discount from unauthorized websites, this results in stealing of credit card and personal information. To illustrate, an online scam where people can invest in stocks had a promotion to get instant access to 1000 dollars by sharing their credit card and personal information. Furthermore, stealing of identity with the help of information provided on social networking websites, to access personal data from friends and others is a common practice. In conclusion, users should carefully access the internet making sure privacy as a top priority. Social media has provided a platform to share and communicate with people around the world.